Tip on restoring reverting xorg.conf file Fiesty Ubuntu

Linux

So I was editing my xorg.conf file to get 9 mouse button support – or at least just get the back thumb button working as I got a new mouse today….I followed a tutorial similar to what I followed to get a old school, but nice, mircosoft intelli-mouse working on my work machine.

So you edit the xorg.conf file and make your changes to the mouse part. Cool – I even saved a copy to the desktop in case.  Restart X but the back button doesn’t work – I keep tweeking and eventually X won’t start – I make all kinds of changes and revision and restore my backup from the wonderfully dark command line but no dice.

I even used the dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg command to no avail.

So I decided to boot up my Ubuntu disk and copy the working xorg.conf file out of there – copy paste restart waalaa! It worked!

Now I only need to figure out how to get Subversion server working on that damn 64bit piece in the back – it already won’t work so I think I’ll serve off of the dev machine in the office instead…anyway X works and I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

