Found this on my iPod about my time at WMC 2005

Rails

Miami, it’s a place where everything is fake, fake gangsters, fake smiles, and fake breasts – none of its real. Not even the beaches are real.  Heaven forbid if the ocean were to carry all the sand away; but don’t worry, we have mounds and mounds of backup sand with bulldozers to build a new beach, yea!
Cultural collision is the best way to describe the South Beach area.  Cubans, gang bangers, fake gang bangers, old Jewish people spending their nesteggs in Flarida,  drug dealers in Ferraris, east coast pretentious assholes on vacation, meathead frat guys on spring break,  fake mafia boys from New Jersey pretending to be cool meanwhile maxing out their platinum cards on dinners they can’t afford, there’s everything and everybody but no one seems happy.  Either everyone here has a story or everyone here doesn’t have a story and if they did they’d probably be lying.
I’m not liking it here but maybe it’s because I’m alone and I have no money.  Maybe once the actual conference starts I’ll be having more fun.  Hopefully I see myself meeting cool people and forming connections that may pan out into a career in music or journalism. I hope I can get past the velvet ropes, beyond the guest-list and bouncers checking fake id’s for girls who aren’t more than 17.  I would like to rock on someone else’s dime.  That would be awesome.  But it will probably end up me being too shy and 20, two weeks before my 21st birthday, not being able to really talk to anyone of any importance or even if I’m outgoing, finding people who don’t want to talk.
I feel like a visitor in my own country.  When the cops don’t speak much English you know you’ve definitely left some realm of sanity.  Everyone here is looking to see who’s looking at them, no one actually does anything.  Car loads of people roll by restaurants with the music bumpin’ looking for all the people at curbside to look their way.  No one in the car is singing or dancing or having a good time – everyone has the same blank stare.  They are just rolling by trying to be louder than the next guy.  And no one really pays attention to the cars and the music – over saturation.

A night with Jaad and Lev
Hotel
Walking around
Dinner
Them going out

Monday –
Slept late.  Nothing really happening at the hotel – setup began for the conference stuff.  Trusses poolside getting setup.  Went to the beach.  Tried to use a beach chair but after ten minutes was accosted and asked for the $5 rental fee.- F that man.  So I tanned, ok, burned on the sand.   Having very little money on vacation makes things interesting, like not being able to buy suntan lotion.  So I just hung around worked on some music. Pretty bored and pretty lonely.  Watched some movies talked to some people on the cell.  Eventually fell asleep.

Tuesday –
What a better day.   Confrence started today so at least there are people around.  Came down to the lobby about noon or so and was quite pleased.  A DJ will be in the lobby all week from 12-6 bumping the tunes.  The normal guests at the hotel must be terrified by all the music people and loud music all the time.  Checked in and got my badge but wasn’t able to register as press.  My internet dilemma was solved by WMC – thankfully they set up computers in the registration area to get online with for free.  Ventured towards the pool area and got my free goodie bag and went back up to my room to check it out.  Several mags – none of them especially good but some free cd’s and dvds.  Turns out the DMC champions are out here from France – I saw them runin around the hotel and then saw their dvd.  Seem like cool guys.  Anyway, ventured back to the pool for some trance/breaks stuff with a live vocalist.  It was cool – the pool sound system is pretty huge – the bass was shaking the concrete.  There is security for getting to the pool area so people can’t just waltz into the party and many of the guests were very disappointed at the fact they had to get checked out on a guest list before they could access the pool.  Hung out for a while then came back in surfed the net and found I have pretty much no money.

Later at the Stanton poolside cocktail party – at which no one was dancing or drinking – I met John Sterling from NY.  He’s into trance but more of a chill out type trance.  He also really likes to dance and work with a positive vibe.  Similar to me he likes to get high on the music instead of drugs. Cool guy but kinda slow and not as into the scene as I was hoping someone might be.  The pool dj was Chris Liebing from germany spinning on all Stanton

Leave a Reply

